My Lola’s Playlist

Lola’s Playlist is a segment from the longest running noontime show Eat Bulaga wherein kids from 12 years old and below can sing and listens to the music hits of 50’s-70’s. And this segment used to help Lola Nidora of Kalyeserye to relieved from SepAnx she feels when Divina (Maine) isn’t around.


Back when I was a child. Naririndi, naiirita, naiinis ako, sa mga kantang pinapatugtog nila Tito at Mama. Ugh. Lakas maka-Old Songs eh, lalo na yung mga Reggae, Disco Songs? Jusq po. Sakit sa bangs teh. Tapos yung mga kapitbahay namin, e ‘di bibisita sa bahay, chika-chika, tas maririnig nila yung music, e ‘di nagmukhang may fiesta – slash – reunion sa bahay……Pero dati yun.
I found these songs meaningful, perfectly delivered by the singers with it’s message and true feelings.
Today, my fave songs are on Lola’s Playlist. If you compared the songs wayback 1950’s to our songs today, you can actually see and heard the difference from it. Songs from the past are even more, yun nga meaningful, full of feelings, you can feel the love, the passion on every words that sung by the singers. It’s very Overwhelming, y’know? Whenever I’m at the beach (fave place), I always play Old Classic Songs, and there, my mind is functioning well, the perfect tims to unwind, my soul’s resting in peace for a while, and this is what I need.
So, if you’re a teenager (like me), and you’re fond of listening to our songs in this generation, then you must check and listen to this out, my own version of Lola’s Playlist, below.
Ps: Please bare with me, I really don’t know the title of the other songs of 50’s-70’s so I didn’t write it here, rather, the songs below might be from 1980’s track and this is my own version, so wala kayong pake kung 80’s pa ‘to. Bleh

12418885_1112754565438741_6670161854594734685_o
*Oh ha!

  • Atlantic Starr – Always
    Dianne Reeves – Better Days
    Michael Jackson – One Day In Your Life
    The Carpenters – Close To You ; Yesterday Once More ; We’ve Only Just Begun
    Crystal Gayle – A Long and Lasting Love
    Debbie Gibson – Foolish Beat ; Lost In Your Eyes
    Patti Austin & James Ingram – Baby Come To Me
    David Pomeranz – The Old Songs.
    Roberta Flack & Patti Austin – Tonight, I Celebrate My Love For You
    The Jets – I Do (Cherish You) ; Make It Real
    Elvis Presley – Can’t Help Falling In Love
    Shirley Bassey – Diamonds Are Forever


So that’s it, 16 songs in all. I should write all The Carpenters songs coz I really love them but I just write my top 3 faves from it instead. Andami kaya nung kanta nila, duh, lol.
If you’re NBSB, and automatically–no date for the Valentines day. Check Maine Mendoza’s Vday Playlist to be inspired mainemendoza.com Find her blog entry entitled “Vday Playlist.”
Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

